20+12+2

Photo: R.C.O.
Photo: R.C.O.

While I may be a fast talker, I’m a slow processor. And I needed some time to process before I could write. Thus, my radio silence after such amazing news.

For those of you who may not know, my husband Picasso received his U.S. permanent residency approval this past Wednesday, June 26th.

This won’t be the last blog entry post-approval. But this is the first.

That moment, that moment where my husband stood once again on one side of bullet-proof glass but instead heard these words,

“Welcome to the United States, your visa has been approved,”

12 years and two months fell away for us as a couple.

However, for my husband, his first deportation was in 1993.

So 20 years fell away in that instant for him. More, if you count the years that he was undocumented in the U.S. before his deportation.

I’ve become unbound this past week. There’s a realigning that I feel pulsing through me. I feel like I’m forever wearing a flower in my hair, dreamy and fragrant.

The day after I returned to Oakland, I made coffee in the kitchen with the french press. I cried quiet tears, thinking that one morning in the very near future, Picasso would be preparing coffee with Mr. Vulcan and Heather Wilhelmina’s french press right here in their kitchen, right here in their home in East Oakland. Right here by my side.

This is truly a team victory, a community win. It may take a village to raise a child, but it also takes a village to help a deported immigrant return to the U.S. with papers. Big hugs and a grateful thank you to those of you on Team Picasso.

Since I came back to the U.S. in 2011, I always played a secret game with myself. Anytime I noticed a clock or watch that matched the hour/minute, i.e., 10:10, 11:11, I made a wish.

The wish never changed. I simply wished that my husband would one day be able to enter the United States.

The first few times that the hour/minute combination came up after Picasso’s visa approval, I’d still automatically wish for the same thing.

I finally woke up to what I was doing the day after Picasso’s approval. I realized that I needed a new wish. What a wonderful to problem to have.

I now have a new wish, and it is for my Green-Eyed Sweetie. May it come true very, very soon.

10 thoughts on “20+12+2

      1. If you think of it, maybe you can make wishes that our little family will have the same happy ending.

        Like

Leave a reply

