“Anchor Babies”

Hey kids.

My Mexican mom had papers when she gave birth to me in the U.S. And my Dad was born and raised in New York.

Yet, in 1970, I was one U.S. Immigration stamp away from falling into today’s shameful and humiliating 14th amendment debate.

And if R and I had kids when we were in the States, then the kid or kids would be right in the thick of it right now. I know many people who are in this situation as we speak, i.e., one or two undocumented parents in the U.S.

And what if R and I have kids in the future? What if we adopt? What if R never enters the U.S. again? What does that mean in today’s political sphere?

You know, as I’ve mentioned earlier, I felt very much alone when R was deported in April of 2001.

But you know what? I think that at this point I’d take the loneliness any day over the what’s happening in the U.S. now.

Today in 2010 I have a community. Today in 2010 I connect with more and more people that understand what I’ve lived through/am living through/will continue to live through.

And yet today in 2010, I feel a fear and a rage that I never could have imagined in 2001.

There’s a question that I ask at the end of my show, The Deportee’s Wife about R possibly not being allowed to enter other countries in the future, due to their political relationship in the U.S. (As was the case with him and Canada in 2007.)

And I ask if one day I may not be allowed to enter the U.S., Canada or any other country because I’m R’s legal wife.

Will those words come true during my lifetime? Jesus.

Today in 2010, unspeakable and unimaginable issues are slaughtered and slapped onto the U.S. political table, the blood still warm.

It almost makes me long for April of 2001. Almost.

5 thoughts on ““Anchor Babies”

  1. It does make me so sad to see the mess going on in the States right now against immigrants and more so against Mexicans. I am actually so glad Im here in Mexico now and dont have to face it day to day like before. During the two years that I lived in the states and Issac lived in Mexico I often had hatefull things said to me about immigrants and Mexicans. Often it would be patients of mine who had no idea what I was in the middle of. Again Im so glad to be away from all that. Like bob said Mexico accepts us.

    1. Hey A, Yeah, the States is quite the tangle right now. A challenging tangle, but a tangle nonetheless. I’d have to gently disagree with you and Bob though-in my experience who Mexico accepts and why I’d say is just as rooted in race, class, sexuality and gender as it is in the U.S. My two cents:) Saludos, TDW

  2. I know what you mean, I always had this thought in the back of my mind that oine day no country would accept me and I would have to live in the middle of the bridge in Laredo Texas, Or the family would be seperated because of politics. So far it looks like Mexico will accept us being together, they’re a lot more humane here. Good luck to all in this situation and God bless. I hope everyones situation will improve. This is also a test from the Deity to see if people will live up to what they claim to be or if they are just hypocritical liars.

    Many people think being married to an American will get you a free pass to the USA but they don’t have a smidgen of an idea as to the Bureaucratic bullshit that multicultural families have to suffer.

Leave a reply

