When A Wire Transfer is a Wild Goose Chase

Hey Kids.

So A&A wired some money this past Friday via Moneygram. This money came in particularly helpful during a jam; R and I really appreciate it.

But man, sometimes I really do miss the swiftness and ease of the US.

First, I got denied at a bank by a woman who clearly was not put on this earth to be in a customer service position.

Peeps, if this had been a few years ago, I would’ve walked out of the bank with tears in my eyes. But I’ve been here long enough to know better. Just because I heard it in a bank, doesn’t make it true, y’all dig?

So, I moved on to a local business where I could supposedly receive the wire transfer. No one was around. A teller finally sauntered over to her window.

Since I was not in the system, she needed to put in my personal info-name, address, etc…

I can see on the screen that she is putting an unecssary E in front of my paternal last name. That happens a lot here. Because my first last name starts with S, many times an E gets thrown in front, because of language. For example, spaghetti here is espagueti.

She fixed her mistake on all her own, and went on to my second last name.

It’s Hernández. Very common here.  Kind of like Smith.

I look at the screen, and see that she is spelling out Fernández. With an F.

I point out the error to her.

She proceeds to tell me, “No, it’s Fernández.”

I say, “No, it’s Hernández.”

She stares at my Mexican passport in her hands as if she’s never seen a Mexican passport before. Remember, this is all happening in Mexico.

“Is this a valid passport?” she asked.

“Um, yeah” I said, “it’s valid until 2012.”

“Well,” she sighed, “I don’t know what to do here, because that part of your last name is clearly Fernández with an F, and you’re insisting it’s Hernández with an H.”

Insisting.

Kids, do I even need to tell you that I wasn’t able to receive the money with Kooky Eyes?

She insisted bringing the wire up through the reference number. I’m sure that she wasn’t reading it correctly. Of course it didn’t come up. She told me that I must have copied the number down incorrectly.

I wish I was kidding.

OK-the third place is a furniture store. Yep, that’s how it rolls in Mexico.

Very nice customer service person. I mean it. Then the system crashes, and she asks me to come back in 15 minutes.

I did, and was able to finally receive the wire transfer.

The National Migration Institute (The immigration offices here in Mexico) recently just changed some of their procedures to the online world, to supposedly streamline and go paperless.

If my MoneyGram experience is any indication, I’ve got two words for you: Good Luck.

2 thoughts on “When A Wire Transfer is a Wild Goose Chase

  1. That is why I always make it a point to be assisted by men in Brazil — without mentioning it to my husband. “Can I help you moderately good-looking 20-something white girl? Wire transfer? I would wire you the moon… you have lovely eyes…”

    I ain’t proud, but a girl’s gotta survive somehow.

Leave a reply

