The List

I’m going to fly to the States on Thursday.  I’ll be performing and giving a workshop at this conference at St. Olaf College in Northfield, Minnesota.

You know, Minnesota in February is not necessarily heaven on earth! lol

Nevertheless, I’m truly excited for the opportunity to perform, to participate actively in the immigration reform movement, and to keep learning about the issue.

That’s the lofty and honorable side.

But kids, there’s most definitely a less lofty side! And it’s not specific to only my situation.

For those of you who don’t have a deported husband, but also don’t live in the country that you grew up in –

I want you to testify!

About what? About The List.

The List is for the things that  you can’t find where you presently live.

For me, that would be Mexico.  (That’s in case you haven’t been paying attention. I’m still amazed by the number of people who somehow think that I live in New York.)

The List is also for things that I can find cheaper in the U.S.

Now, I want to be clear here-my husband Picasso and I have our health, a place to live, food to eat.

So by no stretch of the imagination are we talking life or death. But let’s just take a material walk, with three random items, shall we?

1. Lipton Tea in the 100 tea bag yellow box.

2. Neutrogena products

3. A decent bagel

I know, those items seem kind of small and ordinary. The material things that you miss most usually are.

Listen, Picasso and I have a huge, huge List. Anything from The Body Shop shaving cream to a wine refrigerator is on that list.

The List isn’t geared towards only one trip.

But for those of you who understand what I’m talking about here-

What’s on your List?

5 thoughts on “The List

  1. My mother’s cooking! There is no other place, no other ability.. sorry, she is the BEST cook.. trying to replicate but falling so short… the weather would be another.. greek weather is beautiful!

  2. Affordable, quality health care.

    Naw, I know what you mean. Anytime you and R. get a craving for tea or body care goodies, let me know and I’ll smuggle it to you. 🙂

Leave a reply

