Six Days After

REBECCA BARNETT | The Roanoke Times April Urrea tries to place a call to her husband, Leo, who was recently deported to Mexico. “I think it’s just a big nightmare and I need to wake up,” Urrea said. “But then I realize it’s not a nightmare.” REBECCA BARNETT | The Roanoke Times
April Urrea tries to place a call to her husband, Leo, who was recently deported to Mexico. “I think it’s just a big nightmare and I need to wake up,” Urrea said. “But then I realize it’s not a nightmare.”

April Urrea’s husband Leo was deported from the United States back to Mexico this past September 24th – six days after my husband Picasso entered the United States with papers for the first time from Mexico. 

This is a video that April posted. It’s extremely raw, in all senses of the word. I remember this emotional and mental space very well. 

In an interview with The Roanoke Times, you can read about their story.

It’s a complicated story. It almost always is, in immigration situations like these. Ours was.

As stated in the article, as a result of the separation of this family, April is, “being treated for a host of ailments, including post-traumatic stress disorder related to his incarceration and deportation, according to her doctor.”

She’s asking for our help in two ways: Sign her petition. And donate, if you can.

I don’t know April past her recent posts on social media.

What I do know is that April’s husband was deported from the U.S. six days after my own husband arrived with papers.

If you celebrated my family’s good news, I ask that you now support April and her family.

We continue to fight until I never have to write a blog post like this one ever again.

4 thoughts on “Six Days After

  1. I want to thank you so much it will be almost 3month on the 10th that my husband hasnt been in our home that we built and it will be excally 3 months he was deported i miss him so much it was our granddaughter 3rd birthday today and all she kept on saying is she wants her popaw that broke my beart i miss him so much and like i said he my soulmate and my best friend i want him home this worrying is making me sick i just dont understand how ICE CAN BE SO CRUE AND DEPORT OUR LOVES ONES

    • Thank you for posting, Linda. I know that there are unfortunately so many of us who understand her hurt. While the politicans continue their infighting, the separation of families continues. I’ll be holding you two in my heart this Christmas, and always. Big hug, Giselle

Leave a reply

